• govs 2018 header



Mrs L Robins, Chair of Governors

The Welling School governors bring a range of expertise to the governing body, coming from different backgrounds in education, finance, business, and the public sector. Parent and staff governors offer their perspectives on the work of the school.

There are link governors for key aspects of the school: Special Needs and vulnerable pupils; Safeguarding; KS3; KS4: KS5; Behaviour / student engagement; Attendance; Health and Safety; Partnership 6; Careers & Work Experience.

The Welling governors are very committed to the school and have high aspirations for its pupils. We take our responsibilities very seriously and are always looking to improve our effectiveness.

The Governors are delighted to be part of the success story of our school, which has been judged by Ofsted to be Good.  The Inspection Team noted that "The Governance of the school is a real strength.  Governors support and challenge the school very effectively". 

The governing body currently comprises:

  • Mrs L Robins, Chair
  • Mr T Madden-Nadeau, Vice Chair
  • Mrs D Khanna, Headteacher
  • Mr A McWhinnie, Staff Governor
  • Mr P Smith, Appointed Governor
  • Mrs L West, Appointed Governor
  • Cllr French, Appointed Governor
  • Mr Thomson, Appointed Governor
  • Ms Newport
  • Mr Appiah
  • Mr Butler

At their Autumn Term 2016 meeting, the governors agreed to streamline the management of their meetings, so that, with effect from January 2017, there are no committees. All business is now conducted through full governing body meetings, which occur six times a year.

Mrs L Robins
Chair of Governors


To contact the Chair of Governors, please address your communication to:

Clerk to the Governing Body:  Mr P Boyd, Governance Officer, Governor Services, Civic Offices, 2 Watling Street, Bexleyheath, Kent DA6 7AT

Documentation is updated regularly - please continue to visit this page for information.

Governing Body Sept 2017 pic

training at June 2018


OCT 2018 meeting scheduleattendance at June 2018



Oct 2018 Declaration of business interests






PDF Links: